Celebrating Father’s Day in Mexico

Father’s day in Mexico is known as Día del Padre and like all Mexican celebrations it’s a day full of fun, fiestas and of course food. Father’s day here is celebrated on the 3rd sunday of June like most other countries which in my case is very useful. I’ve lost count of the number of times I have forgotten Mother’s day as here in Mexico it is celebrated in May but back home it is in March! Needless to say my mum now gets to celebrate 3 mother’s day a year just in case! Thank god for international flower delivery companies and paypal!

Family is very important here in Mexico, maybe more so than in other countries, so celebrations such as Father’s Day are always celebrated in a big way. Although it is not a national holiday that doesnt make it any less celebrated (although an extra day of work wouldn’t be bad). Mexican chocolate and all kinds of sweet goodies normally play a big part on the day itself!

My dad is normally here with me at this time of year but due to health issues, this year we’ll be celebrating Father’s Day apart. So Dad.. this blog post is dedicated to you and I can’t wait to see you soon. No matter where I am, or how old I get, I’ll always be your little girl. I love you daddy!

Leave a Reply

