R is for Rooster

Ok so my blog is Mexican themed therefore I’m assuming the first thing to cross your mind is What does a Rooster have to do with Mexico? Well let me explain, nothing.. there is nothing remotely Mexican about Roosters HOWEVER there is a particular rooster that plays a big part in my life here.

So one day, quite randomly, my neighbours decided to get a Rooster! I’m still convinved it was a revenge tactic against me for having 7 dogs but that’s a whole other story. I have always known, or assumed, that Roosters do there whole ‘cockadoodledoo’ thingy when the sun rises each morning. Little did I know.. maybe if I had grown up on a farm or anywhere that wasn’t the center of London I would have been slightly better prepared for the complete chaos that is Cornelius. Yes, thats right, the rooster is called Cornelius and boy does he love the sound of his own voice.

Literally every 10 minutes he does the whole ‘cockadoodledoo’ show (I’m sure there is a specific name for the sound they make, I’ll have to google it to find out). That is actually how we found out that his name is Cornelius because every now and then all you hear from the other side of the wall is ‘Por Dios.. Callate Cornelio’ meaning ‘For God’s Sake Shut Up Cornelius)

I remember complaining about that bird EVERY SINGLE DAY cause of the noise it used to make and then a few days after christmas down I suddenyl realized that I hadn’t heard Cornelius in a while. I was heartbroken, convinced that they had killed him and cooked him for christmas and I swore that if it turned out he was still alive, I would never complain about him again. Well to cut a long story short it turned out that the neighbours went away over christmas and decided to take Cornelius with them.

As I am sitting here writing this, Cornelius is next door singing his little heart out and I can honestly say that it really doesn’t bother me anymore, even my dogs are used to him now!

Here is an idea of what I have to listen to every 10 minutes throughout the day…

Long Live Cornelius!

Update: Apparently the ‘technical’ name for the cockadoodledoo is Crowing!

Crowing

The rooster is often portrayed as crowing at the break of dawn (“cock-a-doodle-doo”) and will almost always start crowing before 4 months of age. He can often be seen sitting on fence posts or other objects, where he crows to proclaim his territory. However, this idea is more romantic than real, as a rooster can and will crow at any time of the day. Some roosters are especially vociferous, crowing almost constantly, while others only crow a few times a day. These differences are dependent both upon the rooster’s breed and individual personality.

7 thoughts on “R is for Rooster

  1. Does a cock not crow? Bless him and what a great name he has …. We are expecting a new addition here. a little tom kitten is going to move in in about 6 weeks so Cornelius is being added to the maybe name list

  2. I laughed audibly at the Spanish translation telling the rooster to knock it off. I feel for you. We have a donkey nearby that we can hear, but he is not so annoying.

Leave a Reply

