O is for Owning My House

It is a common mistake that foreigners cannot legally own property in Mexico. As the Owner of my own house, I can safely say that it is completely possible. There are however restricted zones, where it is still possible to own land however the process is a little more complicated.

Either way, it is highly recommended to hire a good lawyer. Try and find one that specializes in property ownership or even better, find one that is recommended to you from someone who has already gone through the process. That was how I found my lawyer, who to this day, I am still in contact with! It is always handy to have a lawyer on speed dial for absolutely any emergency that may occur!

I started looking for a house pretty much a year after I arrived here to live. I must have visited every real estate company in the area and they took me to see, without a lie, hundreds of apartments and houses. I didn’t know what I was looking for, I just knew that when I saw the perfect house I would know and that is exactly how it happened! After another exhaustive house viewing session with my mum (who was here on vacation), I had to go and pay my electricity bill and as the office to pay were not that far from where I was renting we decided to walk.

On our way back we took a different route to normal and happened to bump into a lady who was just putting up the for sale sign on her house and the rest, as they say, is history. It hasn’t all been plain sailing and as much as I love my house, it has it’s fair share of problems (mainly plumbing!!!) but with a whole collection of plumbers on speed dial life is good!

Leave a Reply

