H is for Habanero

The habanero chili pepper is one of the hottest chilis around and is definitely not recommended for people that are not accustomed to eating them. Trust me! I’m telling you this from a first hand experience. The habanera chili is produced in a wide range of countries however the largest production comes from right here in the Yucatan state. It is used in a variety of typical Mexican dishes either in its solid form or made into a salsa.

Habanero Chilis

I still remember, very clearly, my first habanero experience. I had gone to get tacos with a friend of mine and they had a bar at the end which had various ‘toppings’ and salsas for the tacos. Being wary of chilis, as I hadnt been in the country long, I chose to avoid the chili section and decided to load my tacos up with red onion and a mild sauce, or so I thought. Turned out that the red onion was mixed in with diced habanero. To say that my mouth was on fire is an understatement, joking aside I honestly thought I was going to die! I would like to point out that the entire time my friend was just standing there dying of laughter, some friend huh! Needless to say I survived and although my taste buds have evolved and I could probably handle the taste now I’m not gonna risk it again in the near future. My boyfriend on the other hand couldn’t survive without pouring habanero salsa on EVERYTHING! Eewww…

My BF’s favourite habanero salsa

For those of you that have never tried a habanero chili and can’t quite appreciate how hot they actually are, you have got to watch this video. I have to admit I was laughing so hard when I saw it but I truly can appreciate how she feels….

One thought on “H is for Habanero

Leave a Reply

