Tengo Frió..

Tengo Frio means I’m Cold… I never thought my first blog post about living in the Caribbean would start with the words I’m Cold but it’s true. You post on Facebook or on Twitter that you’re cold and the first thing that happens is you get a million comments from friends and family back home commenting.. ¨Cold? but you live in Mexio¨… ¨You don’t know what cold is¨ … ¨Come home and then you’ll feel cold¨ …

Ok so maybe it’s true, Mexican Cold is nothing compared to USA Cold or UK Cold but at the end of the day when you are used to having the sun beating down on you day after day the cool weather really does get to you. The citizens of Playa del Carmen woke up to a refreshing 13°C  this morning which in my books is FREEZING!

Current Weather

13° ???

So off I go to work all wrapped up only to be greeted by hundreds of tourists dressed in shorts and bikinis looking at me like I was insane! Playa del Carmen has a sub-tropical climate, which means it’s almost always warm. Or hot. Nowhere does it say.. Cold! So for all you people coming to visit, it’s worth packing a light sweater, or if you’re ‘Friolenta’ (always cold) like me then pack a winter jacket and scarf just in case!

Brrrr…

Leave a Reply

